The Neukom Institute announces the list of finalists for the Literary Arts Awards 2020

Dartmouth College’s Neukom Institute for Computational Science has announced the shortlist of books shortlisted for its 2020 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards, and this year’s guest judge will be Sam J. Miller, author of Blackfish Town, Destroy all monsters, and the next one The blade enters.

The awards were first created in 2017, and previous winners include Juan Martinez for Best Worst American, by Lavie Tidhar Central Station, Peng shepherd, M’s book, and others. The award winner takes home a prize of $ 5,000 at a panel discussion at Dartmouth College.

The award is designed to honor books of speculative fiction and plays that act “as a gadfly for good, a provocateur and a satirist when the sciences go too far, but also as visionary prophets of scientific potential.” The director of the Neukom Institute, Dan Rockmore, says that “this is also an important moment. The works chosen for the Neukom 2020 shortlist are insightful, provocative, and can even guide our thinking as we experience the challenges that beset the world today.

This year’s finalists are:

Start Category

  • Cold room, David Koepp (Ecco, 2019)
  • The crying machine, Greg Chivers (HarperVoyager, 2019)
  • The imaginary corpse, Tyler Hayes (Angry Robot, 2019)
  • Infinite detail, Tim Maughan (Farrar, Strauss and Giroux, 2019)
  • Lesson, Cadwell Turnbull (Blackstone Publishing, 2019)
  • Today I am Carey, Martin L. Shoemaker (Baen Books, 2019)
  • We set fire to the dark, Tehlor Kay Mejia (Katherine Tegen Books, 2019)

Open category

  • A song for a new day, Sarah Pinsker (Berkley, 2019)
  • And go like this, John Crowley (Small beer press, 2019)
  • The Alternative endings archive, Lindsey Drager (Dzanc Books, 2019)
  • Dead astronauts, Jeff VanderMeer (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux, 2019)
  • The divers game, Jesse Ball (Ecco, 2019)
  • Exhalation, Ted Chiang (Knopf, 2019)
  • Naamah, Sarah Blake (Riverhead Books, 2020)
  • Pigs, Johanna Stoberock (Red Hen Press, 2019)
  • Tears of the truffle pig, Fernando A. Flores (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux, 2019)
  • Girls of war, Tochi Onyebuchi (Little Little Penguin, 2019)
  • Zero bomb, MT Hill (Titan Books, 2019)

About Herbert L. Leonard

Check Also

Arts & Cultural Council of Bucks hosts member fairs and literary arts events

Join the Bucks County Arts and Culture Council from noon to 4 p.m. on October …