The best books like Twilight to read right now

It’s hard to believe that 10 years have passed since the cinematic masterpiece otherwise known as The breaking dawn – Part 2 arrived in theaters. To help celebrate this momentous occasion, we’ve compiled a list of young adult and adult novels with a supernatural twist to read if you were (or still are) a Twilight fan.

Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger

Image: Levine Querido

The world in which Elatsoe lives is not very different from ours. There is still school to navigate, homework to return on time and pistachio ice cream. There also happen to be terrifying monsters and powerful magic users in this mirror world. Elatsoe herself can communicate with the dead, a gift passed down through generations of Lipan Apache ancestors before her. When her beloved cousin is brutally murdered, Elatsoe decides to put her unique skills to good use and, with the help of her best friend and her loyal ghost dog by her side, she soon discovers that all is not as it is. appears in the quaint town where his cousin’s body was discovered.

Darcie Little Badger has written a beautiful and at times deeply disturbing story that readers of all ages will enjoy about the injustices Indigenous peoples still face today and the importance of knowing where we came from. And, even if it does not involve a love triangle as in Dusk, Elatsoe features a truly spectacular portrayal of aces and some of the most terrifying vampires in YA literature.


Team of Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle

A group of girls wait impatiently (while the reader is watched back) in the cover of the Squad graphic novel, with three silhouettes of wolves howling against the moon in front of them.

Image: Greenwillow Books

What do you get when you cross mean girls with Teen Wolf? The answer is Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle’s beautiful and nostalgic YA graphic novel, Crew.

Located in the affluent suburb of San Francisco, Crew introduces readers to Becca who, like most teenagers, wants nothing more than to find a group of friends she will fit in with. To Becca’s surprise, she is quickly adopted by a group of popular girls at school. It’s only in the light of a full moon that Becca learns the truth: her new friends are werewolves.

Crew is a compelling neon-colored vigilante tale about the dangers of peer pressure, love (both the platonic and romantic varieties), and how all of these things can bring friends together as easily as they can tear them apart .


The Lost Girls by Sonia Hartl

A young girl wearing a studded choker has blood dripping from her fangs in The Lost Girls cover

Image: Street Children Page

If you’ve ever watched any of the Twilight movies and found yourself wishing Alice had more screen time (or sent Bella off with Alice instead of Edward), then The lost girlsSonia Hartl’s sapphic vampire novel, might be the perfect book for you.

Immortality isn’t all it’s made out to be. When 16-year-old Holly Liddell is turned into a vampire by her boyfriend in 1987, the last thing she expects is to be stuck with curly hair for eternity. Thirty-four years later, Holly meets Rose and Ida, two vampires who, like Holly, were turned and left for not (dead) by her ex. Rose and Ida are determined to get revenge, but things get complicated when Holly meets the new girl her ex has set her sights on.

The lost girls is an utterly charming rendition John Tucker must die with a sapphic touch. It’s a wild ride from start to finish and a great reminder that girl gangs are not to be taken lightly.


The Graveyard Boys by Aiden Thomas

The cover of Aiden Thomas' Cemetery Boys, featuring two dark-haired young men, candles, tombstones and a skeleton in the background.

Image: Swoon bed

Despite what Twilight may have led you to believe that not all supernatural slow-burn romances take place between a human and a vampire. Sometimes it’s between a human and their school’s resident bad boy ghost. This, as it turns out, is exactly the case in Aiden Thomas’ enchanting and incredibly tender debut, Cemetery Boys.

Yadriel, a 16-year-old Latino gay boy, wants nothing more in the world than for his family to accept his gender. After Yadriel pulls off a ritual to prove to his family that he’s a brujo, two things happen: he inadvertently unlocks his powers and accidentally summons the ghost of Julian Diaz, the school’s recently deceased troublemaker. In death, Julian is endearing and full of warmth in a way that seems at odds with rumors of his troubled past. Determined to find out what really happened before moving on, Julian convinces Yadriel to help him.

It goes without saying, Cemetery Boys is an emotional rollercoaster of a book. Aiden Thomas takes no risks as Yadriel is embraced at arm’s length (at least at first) by his family. The journey to acceptance and self-discovery is bumpy, but Yadriel has help along the way and learns that you don’t need anyone’s permission to be yourself.


Fangs by Sarah Andersen

Cover image for Fangs by Sarah Andersen, featuring a young woman wearing a black dress and batwings.  The book is bright red in color.

Image: Andrews McMeel Publishing

I challenge you to find a slice-of-life graphic novel about a vampire and a werewolf falling in love that’s as witty, charming, or downright funny as fangs by Sarah Anderson.

Originally a webcomic, fangs tells the story of Elsie, a 300-year-old vampire in search of love, and Jimmy, an utterly charming, flannel-clad werewolf. Each page is its own stand-alone comic that gives readers a glimpse into Elsie and Jimmy’s life together as their affection for each other grows. They watch horror movies, go to dinner parties, and learn to deal with each other’s quirks (Jimmy hates the postman, while Elsie struggles to take selfies and avoids the sun at the beach).

The combination of Andersen’s stunning gothic illustrations and his signature wry sense of humor highlights the trials and tribulations of modern relationships and makes fangs A must read if you are a fan of supernatural romance.


Those Sharp Teeth by Rachel Harrison

Cover image for Such Sharp Teeth by Rachel Harrison, which promises it as a werewolf novel.  A werewolf silhouette appears in a red circle, flowing like blood.  The title is written in large pink letters, like a marker or a highlighter.

Image: Berkley Books

If you were Team Jacob instead of Team Edward, Such sharp teeth by Rachel Harrison may be the book for you. You are guaranteed to have a great time reading one of Harrison’s books (check out The return once you are done Such sharp teeth). Harrison is a master when it comes to making horror fun, and her feminist, body-positive take on werewolves is no exception.

Like many people, Rory Morris isn’t thrilled about returning to the small town she grew up in, but that’s exactly what she does when her pregnant sister asks for help. Rory ditches her dream job and ambitious social life, returning to the town she grew up in and the rumor mill she left behind. Things get complicated when, after grabbing some drinks with an old near-flame, Rory hits a large red-eyed animal with his car. His investigation leads to a violent attack in the woods, and soon after, Rory develops an unusual craving for red meat, is suddenly super strong, and has a sudden aversion to money.

With the next full moon fast approaching, Rory must learn to juggle her new predicament, supporting her sister as best she can and a potential love interest while trying to prevent another attack from happening.


Hunger House by Alexis Henderson

Cover image for Alexis Henderson's House of Hunger, featuring a young woman in a red dress, blood running down her neck.

Picture: Ace Books

Unlike the vampires of Twilight, those of Alexis Henderson’s sexy, gothic new novel, house of hunger, does not shine. Henderson has become an author to watch when it comes to cosmic horror, dark fantasy, and things that happen in the night. In house of hungershe deconstructs the hedonistic, gory vampire tradition we all know and overturns it.

Marion Shaw has dreamed of leaving the city and slums where she has lived all her life, so when the opportunity to work as a blood girl at the infamous House of Hunger arises, she jumps at the chance for a fresh start. . As soon as she arrives, Marion discovers a lavish and debauched world in which the rich drink the blood of those in their service. At its center is the fearsome and seductive Countess Lisavet, and while Marion would do anything to please her new mistress, it’s hard to ignore the fact that her blood mates have begun to disappear overnight.

As seductive as it is ruthless, this bloody and gripping novel is not to be missed.


Hart and Mercy’s Company by Megan Bannen

Cover image for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy by Megan Banne.  It's a light blue cover with yellow designs of skulls, flowers and candles.  In the middle, two skeletal hands form a heart, which is shaded in pink.  Two white figures are seen next to a tombstone in the heart.

Image: Books in Orbit

If you’re a fan of romance novels and haven’t heard of them Hart and Mercy’s Company by Megan Bannen again, then you should stop reading this and go get your hands on a copy right now.

The titular Hart is a marshal (think Timothy Olyphant in Justified), unwavering and serious, tasked with patrolling the magical land of Tanria. He is also incredibly lonely. Desperate for a connection, Hart writes an anonymous letter that ends up in the hands of his nemesis: Mercy Birdsall. The last thing Hart expects is Mercy to respond to his letter or, even worse, develop romantic feelings for her.

Set in a world that features old gods, new gods, talking animals, undead, and just about everything in between, it’s essential reading for anyone who faints at the mere thought of a slow burning plot, epistolary, enemies to lovers.

About Herbert L. Leonard

Check Also

The Best Lesser-Known Fantasy Books to Read During the Holidays

Many players are also lovers of literature, and more specifically of the fantasy genre. And …